Running .desktop files from command line

Follow these instructions to run desktop files from command line in Ubuntu 14.04.

Examples:

1) Create a new file: ~/bin/run-desktop

2) Set the execute permission

3) Create a new file: ~/.local/share/applications/run-desktop.desktop

4) Add a new entry to ~/.local/share/applications/mimeapps.list

 

Live Webcast Introducing Java EE 7

Live Webcast Introducing Java EE 7

Register here to join us for a live webcast Introducing Java EE 7! The Java EE 7 platform JSR has been approved, and we are now counting down the days to begin developing with many new Java EE features.

The event will run with live chat at two times:

Wednesday, June 12, 2013 / Thursday, June 13, 2013

  • 9 am PT / 12 pm ET / 5 pm London
  • 9 pm PT / 12 am ET (Thursday) / 2 pm Sydney (Thursday)

Spread the word!

Differences between Eclipse Juno 3.8 and 4.2

Eclipse JunoThe Eclipse Juno simultaneous release included both the Eclipse Juno 4.2 and the Eclipse Juno 3.8 versions of the Eclipse Application Platform (confusing, but true).

The 4.2 release is a mature platform release containing significant new feature work, while the 3.8 release focuses on stability and bug fixes.

That said, you can download the Eclipse Platform 3.8 and then install the Juno packages you want.